In many countries, plastic containers have become more common than ever and are used by Food and Drink companies. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Massive plastic production waste is a major concern in several nations. In these countries, plastic receptacles are widely used by the food and beverage industries and by citizens regularly. Although this trend has several benefits, I believe the drawbacks outweigh them in the long run. The use of plastic containers is beneficial in many ways. Firstly, it is cost-effective and durable. The fact that many companies use them because the cost of manufacturing plastic vessels is relatively cheaper than other metal items helps them to reduce the overall production cost and consumer prices. For example, a company such as Mogu-Mogu, they were selling drinks in a glass bottle, switched to a plastic container, and they noticed a 30% profit in the production department. secondly, the nature of plastic is convenient and lightweight, making it ideal for single- use purposes, especially in fast-paced lifestyles or use -and-throw consumption. This completes the demand for pre-packed food longer shelf life, which is beneficial for both retailers and consumers. However, increasing plastic materials has numerous drawbacks. This type of material is responsible for massive pollution. To elaborate, waste from plastic containers is collected and dumped into land and the ocean, which is harmful to land and water creatures. Due to their biodegradable nature, many fish can die, and it affects the whole ecosystem. For instance, a huge number of the population relies on seafood, due to water contamination by plastic waste, a number of fish die, and it creates a situation of food shortage. Moreover, there is a risk to human health due to chemicals in plastics, especially when they are used improperly, which can melt in food and drinks. As per an article on cancer, long-term use of plastic vessels releases chemicals that can be a cause of cancer in the human body. Furthermore, increasing regulations and public awareness regarding plastic usage are posing challenges to companies relying heavily on plastic packaging, indicating a shift towards more sustainable options. Therefore, plastic receptacles are far more dangerous to use. To conclude, despite such advantages that plastic containers are highly cheap, durable, and convenient, I believe the disadvantages, such as plastic causing global warming, ocean contamination, and health crisis, have more weight.