Some people believe that the fittest and strongest individuals and teams always succeed in sports. Others think that success in sports depends on mental attitudes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The issue of the essential factors for being successful in sports has sparked a significant debate between the community that believes physical strength plays a significant role in this success, and others who advocate that mental endurance is far more important. Victory in sports is often associated with a combination of numerous attributes hence, without either mental or physical strengths, no one can be successful. Admittedly, as some people argue, physical features are undeniably crucial in many sports, ranging from basketball to weightlifting. In fact, some traits like height, weight, and muscle mass are game-changing elements that have a direct effect on an athlete’s progress thus, sometimes the absence of such qualities may lead to failure. Moreover, in some branches, body structure is a contribution to achieving goals. For instance, in swimming, wider shoulders and bigger feet assist the swimmer in maintaining his balance and moving quickly. Nevertheless, since sport is considered one of the most demanding duties that requires commitment and determination, mental strength is even more important in winning a contest. As a tangible example, sportsmen who deal with soccer or cricket have to spend at least 6-8 hours on exercise per day. Therefore, if they do not have enough discipline, they will fail to achieve success. In addition, mindset plays a crucial role in overcoming mood swings, particularly in competitive and high-pressure situations. Cambridge University found in a recent study that champions’ mental resilience is the main root of success, which allows competitors to stay focused and push beyond pain and fatigue. In summary, a wide spectrum of elements affects performance in sports. While optimal fitness and muscular capability are vital in athletic achievements, the importance of proper mindfulness and intellectual abilities cannot be neglected. According to the abovementioned arguments, it is clear that this success requires a coordination between athletes’ minds and bodies