Some people think that the increase in international travel has a negative impact on the environment and should be restricted. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? #237(1)

Travelling abroad is now easier than in the past, which has led some people to worry about its impact on the environment and argue that international flights should be restricted. I totally agree with this idea, as the increase of flights contributes to air pollution, and many tourists cause damage to local areas. First and foremost, aeroplanes have contributed to climate change through the fuel they use, which releases greenhouse gases. When there are too many commercial flights operating subsequently, the level of air pollution increases, worsening the effects on the environment. For instance, a survey has shown that the air quality index in residential areas near airports have decreased around 10% each year. As a result, residents struggle to breathe clean air, and some are even forced to wear masks in a daily basis. Furthermore, many tourists often lead to overcrowding and irresponsible behaviour, which can damage local areas. The easy access to visas and travel tickets around the world enables individuals to travel more frequently, particularly to destinations that are cheaper than their home countries. In Bali, for example, local inhabitans feel disturbed by Western tourists during temple prayers. Although regulations are in place, it becomes difficult to enforce them when tourist numbers are too high. Therefore, to ensure convience for all, restricting international flights should be seriously considered. In conclusion, although travelling abroad offers cultural experiences and stress relief, it should be restricted to those whose travel is truly essential. This would ensure that only individuals who have valid reasons can go abroad, prevent tourists overcrowding in certain places, and reduce the environmental burden caused by flight traffic.