In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problem for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

The longevity of people is increasing in most countries. While some people think that the government faces issues because of the older population, others argue that there are upsides if society has more elderly people. I believe that having an ageing population definitely outweighs the disadvantages to a larger extent. First and foremost, the unemployment status in a country will escalate at an alarming rate if there are more old people. This is because countless elderly people do not prefer to work in their 60s. In England, for example, the statistics showed that 30% of the unemployment rate is accounted for by the elderly community, and the government is required to allocate huge funds to support their medical needs and pensions. This places a strain on government resources and taxpayers. On the contrary, others argue that an ageing population will offer numerous benefits to society. Foremost among these is the help they provide to the family. To explain this, most of the millennials who have children are workaholics and have limited time to take care of their kids. As a result, these young generations often look up to their elderly parents to help look after their kids. Secondly, the elderly can contribute to society through social engagement and volunteering. Many individuals who are in the older age group remain active in their communities, participating in volunteering and mentoring, which will improve the quality of the social aspect in a country. For instance, in Africa, there is a non-profit organisation called Hope, led by a group of retired people, in an effort to help the poor in the region. This not only will keep them engaged, but also allows them to provide continued support for the betterment of society, which is vital to both humanity and the country’s growth. In conclusion, although an aged population elevates the unemployment rate and creates potential drawbacks to the government, the benefits of having them certainly negate and outweigh the disadvantages. This is supported by the fact that they contribute to social engagement and volunteering, apart from being helpful to the young generation in the family.