Some people think that public transport should be free, especially in big cities. Do you think free public transportation will have more advantages or disadvantages?

Providing free transport to the large city residents is a topic of ongoing debate. There are many positive factors of offering free-of-cost movement services in big cities while some disadvantages make it difficult to happen. Admitting a few negative issues I strongly believe that the matter of free transportation has more positivity and the possibility of acceptance. In this essay, I will describe all the points I support for my ultimate opinion. The local transportation system is the backbone of a large city where government and local authority give much importance. If the transport system is free of charge, citizen's life becomes very much comfortable and easy. Among many positive aspects of this, firstly the matter of ensuring citizen's rights might be introduced since they pay taxes on time. Moreover, it not only establishes equality among people but also breaks the boundaries between different classes in society as there are no special reservations or ticket class preferences. Moreover, free local transport can reduce conflicts between passengers and vehicle staff as there is no question of collecting any money directly from the travellers. As a result, no bargain happens during travel; additionally, a peaceful situation is maintained. Furthermore, passengers can save valuable time as well. As an example, where there is in need to purchase a ticket before travel, passengers need extra time to stand in line and collect after payment. Thus, a huge amount of time can be saved from people's daily schedules which might be usable in productive work. Since vehicles can move fast without any hassle, traffic congestion is also reduced on the roads. Admittedly, there are a few drawbacks to the free travel system. It can be said that, to create this facility, the government need to provide extra subsidiary money from the yearly budget which might be useable in any other development projects. In addition, this surely stops the opportunity for private transportation businesses and investors are directly affected. However, these disadvantages are really ignorable in front of all the advantages of the system In conclusion, it might be said that a large metropolitan free transport system is meant an extra investment for authority; nevertheless the positive outcomes including establishing public rights, ease in daily life and equality make it a more supportable factor. That is why, I agree all the advantages are above the negative issues and this should be implemented in every large city across the world.