. Wealthy countries should accept more refugees and provide them with basic assistance, such as food and housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that developed countries should allow more aliens to enter their lands and support them with food and shelter. This essay totally agrees with the statement because it is a human humanitarian obligation, and wealthy countries have the ability to do so. As many displays show, people are fleeing their homelands due to factors such as war or hunger. The main reason why countries should welcome more is that they have the financial ability to do so. Countries like the UK, Germany, and the US have a huge budget that they collect from taxes from their citizens and companies that are operating in their territory; it would take a tiny fraction to help and feed millions of displaced people that have been forced to flee their home countries due to factors such as severe hunger or wars, for example. It is estimated that the European Union's total GDP is over $18 trillion, and all of the Syrian refugees could be resettled for less than a billion dollars. Wealthy states also have a moral responsibility to save these poor people who have been forced to leave their homes to save their families. That is to say, no one wants to escape their homeland unless it is essential to do so, and if Western countries refuse to take them in, they certainly will be in danger of losing their lives. For example, people from Syria have no food and are often caught in the middle of full-scale battles, and that is the main reason why nearly 5 million of them have escaped. In conclusion, affluent states should help to resettle refugees because they can afford to do so, and it will help save lives.