There are more and more vehicles in front of our houses, which is very dangerous for cyclists and pedestrians. Besides, many gardens have to make way for highways or expressways. How can we make everyone satisfied?

Murphy’s law says, “If you try to satisfy everyone, somebody will be dissatisfied.” In this essay, the above issue will be dealt with in terms of people’s needs, developmental requirements, and the planning of cities. First, environmental psychologists have proved that people living in cities need to experience nature in some way or another. For example, it was found that children who are born and grow up in “concrete jungles” and do not have the opportunity to play on lawns, climb trees, or see and smell flowers and plants once in a while develop higher levels of aggression than those kids who do have such opportunities. Second, cities are places where commerce and industry are concentrated. This results in the need for many vehicles to move around and to do so quickly. For this, a network of roads, highways, freeways, and bypasses needs to be built. These take up a lot of space in our cities. Lastly, it is always difficult to change situations in existing cities. When planning new cities, however, we are able to ensure that the needs of the people as well as commerce and industry are met. When they are educated at universities, city planners should be made aware of everyone’s needs and trained to solve problems. So I have briefly looked at the needs of people and business and what has to be done in the future. To conclude, it could be said that we have to learn from the mistakes of the past to build better cities in the future.