More and more adults are playing computer games. Why is it happening? Is it a positive or negative trend?

There is a rising trend among mature people in spending time on video games. It can be explained by their desire to alleviate stress and find new friends online. However, I strongly believe that this phenomenon has more drawbacks than benefits. To begin with, computer games often contribute to emotional relief. Immersing in this artificial environment helps an adult to escape from reality, avoid depressing thoughts and simply rejoice. Moreover, online games provide an opportunity to make new acquaintances with people from different parts of the world. For example, during COVID-19 shutdown in 2020, the overall stress level was permanently increasing because of the ubiquitous spread of terrifying news. Also, people experienced a severe shortage of social interaction. As a result, there was a skyrocketing of downloads of various computer games because people needed a way to unwind and communicate. Notwithstanding all positive reasons for gaming mentioned, I tend to think that it is a negative development. Excessive playing of computer games usually makes a person more withdrawn and overwhelmed. Furthermore, constant emotional release leads to a vivid decline in energy. After finishing the game, a person comes back to their reality that might be rather unsatisfying and unpleasant. So, they start craving new experiences to get the same level of enjoyment as previously had. Unfortunately, this yearning results in a video game addiction and the individual’s isolation. These all have a considerable effect on a person’s life, making it more complicated to exist in the real world. In conclusion, playing games online helps adults feel like a child by making it possible to become carefree and relaxed. Despite this fact, I am still concerned about the negative consequences that might occur from spending too much time on video games.