The wealth gap between 1st world countries and 3rd world countries seems to be increasing. How can we reduce this gap? Do you think that developed countries have a duty to assist developing countries in every way?

In recent years, since economic disparity has been widening between developed and developing nations, I believe that wealthier countries should take responsibility for narrowing this gap. This essay will discuss strategies to bridge this gap and whether affluent nations are morally obliged to help poorer ones in all aspects. To begin with, the gap between the Global North and South can be reduced significantly through various effective means. If affluent countries were serious about tackling this problem, they would create fairer trade policies and eliminate restrictions by reducing tariffs and quotas on exports imposed by developed nations, thus allowing low-income countries to be part of the competitive economy. For example, if Africa were allowed to participate in the global economy without complications, this would provide us with cheaper chocolate since Africa could process and export it, unlike Europe, which exports it at a much higher price. Furthermore, high-income nations are obliged to reduce the inequality caused by their historical exploitation. This means that European powers deliberately extracted and damaged natural resources for centuries from underdeveloped communities. Therefore, restoring what they did is a matter of moral obligation and justice rather than charity. For instance, Belgium brutalised the Congo, taking rubber and minerals, and destroying local industries, without any real investment in Congolese communities. Besides, the Global North either enslaved or underpaid people in the Global South, leading to widespread illiteracy and poverty. To conclude, the widening disparity must be reduced to ensure fair opportunities for every human being. Considering that the delay in the economic development of Third World countries is due to the past colonisation by First World countries, I argue that wealthier countries should compensate for their colonial history.