In many countries, students leave high school without learning how to manage their money. Why is that the case? What could be done to tackle the issue? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that in many countries, students have limited knowledge of financial literacy by the time they graduate from college. In this essay, I will articulate some of the reasons why that is the case, such as poor curriculum design, and suggest some solutions, like curriculum restructuring. One of the reasons why students do not learn how to manage their money is that their taught subjects do not include topics on budgeting. Secondly, it is because their high spending at school is motivated by the competition and desire for popularity. Many learning institutions tend to focus more on educating learners for the job market than teaching them to be responsible citizens. The result is that graduates become intelligent in doing job tasks, but not in handling their money. Moreover, while at school, learners want to be popular, and one way of achieving that is overspending. As a result, they do not develop the skills required to handle resources. For instance, when I was growing up, I bought expensive products just to fit in with my friends and did not care about the implications. To address these challenges, there is a need to redesign the curriculum to fully integrate topics that explore financial competence. This will help scholars understand the importance of taking care of their resources. Secondly, non-profit organisations can conduct workshops in colleges on monetary accountability. For example, after an NGO in Zimbabwe targeted 17 schools in Bulawayo with such programs, their evaluation report noted that youths were now spending only on educational items such as textbooks and calculators and not junk food or other expensive gadgets. In summary, the main reasons why younger generations graduate without grasping the skills of financial management are that such topical issues are not taught, or the youthful population spends a lot of money to seek fame. Learning institutions and NGOs must take centre stage in addressing these challenges through formal and informal education.