Today our communications, medicine and transport systems all depend on computer technology. Our reliance on computer technology in these fields has created a dangerous situation. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays in the age of computerization and technological breakthroughs, people more and more rely on computer technology. It has become almost indispensable part of our lives, especially in communication, medicine, and transport. However, this strategy of excessive dependence has a number of disadvantages associated with safety. Firstly, the main drawback of computerization is the problem of data security. Our social media and medical informational systems contain an array of personal information. Everything may seem to be safe until talented hackers can find downsides in security and steal it. As a result, this data can be used for financial crimes, intimidation, or public showing. For example, in medical information systems, people have a lot of personal and sensitive information about HIV status. If it spreads across the internet, it will cause unpredictable results for patient's quality of life. Secondly, another important disadvantage of computer technology is the technical problems. When something goes wrong, even the most perfect mechanism breaks. It can be problems with hardware, software, electricity, and many other things. Breaks in programs or viruses can lead to loss of a huge amount of useful information without the ability to return it. Electricity can go out, which can paralyse all systems. A good result of this is the situation in Ukraine associated with the constant bombard of civil infrastructure. As a consequence, it has led to problems with electricity and caused issues with transportation in cities, with normal work of healthcare. In conclusion, although due to the convenience of computer technologies, their importance can not be underestimated, people do not have to rely on them too much, especially in such vital branches of life as medicine and transport. There has to be a balance between benefits and possible harm.