Tobacco is a kind of drug. People have been free to use it. Some people think that it should be illegal to use it compared with other drugs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the present day, some argue that tobacco products like cigarettes should be banned considering the effect of other drugs, while others believe that freedom should be given to tobacco smokers. In my perspective, I completely agree with that: tobacco should be banned in countries due to several concerns described below. Firstly, people who smoke tobacco products are easily vulnerable to respiratory problems such as lung cancer. In fact, it is not only a particular person, but secondhand smokers, such as his friends or family members, are also subjected to diseases associated with the respiratory system. Therefore, some governments have adapted rules to interpret pictures of people undergoing illnesses because of tobacco to decrease the percentage of users. Nevertheless, it does not work according to me, as people who are addicted know the disadvantages of it and continue using it. Eliminating their addiction abruptly is an extremely difficult task. Apart from the above reason, smoking tobacco directly contributes to atmospheric air pollution. For instance, particulate matter, fine particles, and carbon monoxide are byproducts of smoking, which are emitted and end up in city dwellers bodies as toxic compounds. Moreover, these toxic compounds are considered volatile organic compounds, which would be the root cause for serious health concerns in the long term. The proportion of tobacco users and the quality of the air in a crowded city are thus clearly related. In conclusion, I firmly believe that tobacco prohibition is essential for a country, as usage of it causes several health concerns for the community.