Handwriting today is less formal than it was in the past. What are the causes of this change? Is it a positive or negative development?

In the contemporary world, handwriting has seen a noticeable decline in popularity due to the rise of digital technologies. This essay will discuss how handwriting has changed and examine the impacts of technological advancements on this traditional skill. First and foremost, handwriting is still in active use in schools, hospitals and in some government agencies to send official letters to one another or to the citizens. However, as we live on the edge of technology, digitalisation of written communication is being rigorously developed to replace this old method. In daily life, people use computers or phones to text each other or even send official documents in a matter of seconds to someone who is in another part of the world. Moreover, there is less need to sign the paper forms, as we benefit from the convenience of electronic signatures. For these reasons, longhand inevitably became unpopular. Although handwriting has become less trendy as a way of communication, thus leading to a noticeable decline of creativity and self-reflection, this shift has many positive impacts on the work process as well as on the environment. For example, office workers or students do not need to rewrite their whole work just to make some corrections; instead, they adjust it on the computer and then print the final version, allocating less time. Additionally, this allowed society to use less paper on any type of written work, contributing to slowing down deforestation. In conclusion, handwriting is in limited use nowadays due to the appearance of many more convenient ways of doing this task, like typing on a computer. But, this alteration has mainly a positive outcome in the form of convenience and ecological appeal.