In some cities public parks and open spaces are being changed into gardens where local residents can grow their own fruit and vegatables. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, people in metropolitans are trying to grow fresh vegetables in their kitchen gardens. In many cities public places, such as parks, open areas are being converted into gardens, in order to, promote this trend. From my viewpoint, this is a positive trend, which may have many advantages, and the reasons behind this thought are elaborated in the following paragraphs. To begin with, those who think that it is a negative trend assert that more emphasis should be given on beautification of the parks rather than their conversion into the kitchen gardens. In fact, people in the cities like to go in public parks, because it is a perfect place for them to feel the mother nature and relax. Therefore, authorities must consider developing more parks and open spaces, so that urban population could use it regularly. On the other hand, those who think that this practise is advantageous opine that it enables citizens to eat unadulterated food. As a matter of fact, these days vegetables and fruits are grown by using many insecticides and pesticides, which are causing many health issues. To illustrate, according to a report, a number of diseases related to stomach, allergies, etc are caused by the chemicals used, while growing eatables. Hence, the kitchen gardens offer a possible solution, which could enables the population to eat healthy and unadulterated food. Adding more to it, converting parks and open land into gardens could save local council's and people's money. Generally, the local governments spend a lot of funds on maintainance of public places, and spaces. Moreover, locals also spend money on buying fruits and vegetables. However, if public parks and open lands are converted into gardens for growing food stuff, this trend could possibly save money for both the parties. In conclusion, it is fact that the urban population use parks and open lands for relaxing themselves, but at the same time these places provide an option to people for growing healthy food, and save funds for people as well as for the authorities.