Most countries aim to improve their standard of living through economic development, but many important social values can be lost as a result. Do the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern world, all nations over the world are in the race to enhance their economy to raise residents' living standards, whereas a majority of people believe that this may bring several issues within the society. From my perspective, economic advancement has its pros and cons, but I believe that the consequences outweigh the advantages for some reasons mentioned in this essay. On the one hand, it is obvious that countries with a strong economic background are able to carry out multiple innovations to improve citizens' lives. Specifically, the government may have sufficient financial condition to invest in public facilities such as hospitals, clinics, public transport systems or the modern water and electronic system... These infrastructures help to improve the daily activities of local people and serve the best for their basic needs. In addition, the authorities can also establish funds to support educational activities for the young generation. This helps the youngsters to broaden their horizons and develop their skills, and as a result, creates a strong workforce for the country in the future. On the other hand, many nations may abandon social values as they only concentrate on enhancing the economy. This potentially leads to multiple issues within the society, such as strengthening the gap between different classes, because it is mostly the wealthy people who get the benefits from these innovations. In addition, if the authority does not focus on sustainable development, the environment and natural resources of that country are likely to be heavily damaged. Specifically, when there is no strict law and regulation regarding organizations or corporations' responsibility to the environment, they may just pay attention to production to create benefits while not handling the chemical waste properly and as a result, create detrimental pollution to the water system. In conclusion, even though it is crucial to provide national economy, I still hold a strong belief that the disadvantages may outweigh the benefits if the government do not apply suitable policies to avoid social problems.