When students study a foreign language,,they should also study the culture and lifestyles of the people who speak the language. Do you agree or disagree?

There are a large number of students studying a second language. There is an ongoing debate about whether they should also learn the culture of the people who speak the language. For my part, I strongly agree that they should do so and will discuss this in further detail in the following paragraphs. To begin with, the first and foremost reason why students should be aware of the culture of the country whose language they are learning is that they often tend to immigrate to that country. That is, most of the students learning a foreign language may be planning to live in that country one day, and consequently, it is essential for them to be familiar with the lifestyle and the attitude of its people. In other words, they should raise their cultural awareness in order to avoid culture shock and confusion they may experience. There are crucial aspects of a nation’s culture that, if not understood, can cause substantial problems and language barriers. For instance, in the UK, it is polite to say "thank you" for every small favor, or it is better not to use "do you need help?" when offering assistance, as it may seem awkward and inconsiderate. Secondly, every language is backed up by its culture. The way people use certain words and expressions can carry deeper meanings that comprehending them requires not only linguistic knowledge but a cultural awareness. As an example, you may not be able to understand jokes and sarcasm in another language if you do not know the cultural reference behind them. Hence, the more familiar you are with a nation's culture and outlook, the better you can communicate with them, regardless of how good you are at speaking their language. I strongly believe that learning another language is not only about grammar or vocabulary, but also about their culture, history and the national identity of its people. In conclusion, I think it is necessary for students to learn the culture of the country whose language they are learning, in order to tackle some problems such as culture shock and language barriers.