There are many ways of preventing crimes that are much better than prison. Do you agree or disagree with this view? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s world, there is an increasing trend of crime within the community; however, some argue that there are other options available to minimise the impact instead of imprisonment. From my perspective I completely agree with that opinion, according to the reasons outlined below. Firstly, people sent to prison for committing serious crimes are constantly angry with society. In fact, they always are subjected to brutal violence and unethical things through other peers. Therefore, as soon as they are released after years, they need revenge. Currently most of the crimes have some connection to a person released from prison. Accordingly, it is obvious that the sentences they were subjected to were fruitless since they have not learnt any lesson and they are not even afraid of committing crimes. Instead of giving them harsh sentences, it is advised to give those opportunities to regain mental stability and personality after the incident, as no one has a clear idea of the reason behind why that person underwent that incident. Moreover, it is essential to invest in rehabilitation programs for those who are involved in crimes by the authorities. For instance, sermons and meditation programs can be conducted to calm their minds. These campaigns would be more effective regarding the overall mental health of individuals if they were conducted in natural environments. Furthermore, the government can give training for those who are imprisoned as a qualification for self-employment opportunities such as skilled labour. Apart from that, awareness programs should be conducted within these camps to teach religions and make them understand the aggravating nature of crimes. In conclusion, there should be sentences for those who committed crimes, but that should not darken their whole life as a result. Opportunity should be given to them to change.