It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science at university. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society?

In numerous countries, there is a noticeable trend of a shortage of students selecting science as their field of study at the university level. This essay will discuss the reasons that may have provoked this issue and what should have been done about these situations. One of the main causes of the scarcity of students who do not study science at university is the difficulty of disciplines and it is extremely time-consuming, a long-term study. With the expansion of many new modern and creative studies such as marketing, blogging or internet-related studies, natural or humanitarian science is less interesting and left behind. Moreover, in recent years, employment opportunities in science have been abundant and quite competitive. For instance, according to the job search services, people who try to find jobs in humanitarian science are widespread, therefore it leads to a rigid rivalry between competitors. The first consequence is that the shortage of students in science provokes the scarcity of experts in a particular field. Some vital domains such as engineering or physics may remain and suffer from a lack of diligent specialists, hence it may have a negative impact on society. Secondly, the dominance of widespread jobs in science results in unemployment because of many people with the same degree, therefore people will not be able to find a proper job. In turn, it leads to low salaries and rewards. In conclusion, the causes of a shortage of students selecting science is the complexity of studying science and the diversity of science jobs. These trends can lead to a shortage of professionals in a certain science field in the future and unemployment.