Scientists predict that in the future, cars will be driven by computers. What are the reasons behind this? Is it a positive or negative development?

In the years to come, experts believe that vehicles will be controlled by computers. The main reason is the progress of artificial intelligence which focuses mainly on making cars autonomous. This has been deemed a welcome development as it will improve logistical services and prevent accidents to save lives. There has been an unprecedented rise in the production of self-driving cars due to the advancements in artificial intelligence. Machine learning algorithms are being designed with one specific purpose; to make automobiles autonomous. These advanced computing modules will allow the movement from point A to point B without any human interaction. Consequently, it is economical for organisations while allowing them to relocate their human resources to less redundant tasks. Moreover, these digital drivers will be able to quickly choose between the best routes to avoid traffic congestion and reach their destinations without delay. For example, Google has self-driving cars which take pictures of different areas they drive through and upload that information onto Google Maps in real-time, expanding the Google database. These enhancements should be welcomed, despite having safety concerns; these will save lives. It cannot be ignored that most accidents take place due to human error, and as machine learning improves, it has the potential to eliminate driver negligence. Several accidents occur when the driver is not paying attention, which might be caused by fatigue or stress. This means that incidents of drunk driving or falling asleep while driving might not be so common in the future. To exemplify, Volkswagen has introduced an Autopilot system that gains control of the vehicle if the driver becomes unresponsive and drives the car to the roadside while alerting safety services. In conclusion, the broad use of AI-based transportation will inevitably become a norm in the future as computer programs mature and further efforts are made to improve them. It should be considered a positive development as it will lead to better traffic conditions and improved safety standards.