Demand for gas and oil is increasing and so finding new sources in remote and untouched areas is a necessity. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In today's fast-paced world, the availability of natural resources is becoming questionable due to their exploitation. In order to keep it available, it is necessary to explore remote areas and unexplored places. In this context, the merits of this situation outweigh the demerits. On the one hand, discovering and utilizing remote areas to explore natural resources opens a window for local people and the government. Moreover, it can escalate the job opportunities for the locals and it can help them to upgrade their lifestyles. Apart from that, it will change the infrastructure of the area leading to a development. Additionally, the government can take revenue from the resources which increases the national economic growth. For instance, the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge had huge oil resources and the area was explored to gain profit and became one of the major onshore exporting hub. On the other hand, a massive disadvantage of exploration is the disturbance to the local ecosystems. Drilling the pristine environment in search of resources can disturb the habitat of living creatures. However, the irreversible damage to the ecosystem can lead to climate change and its consequences. Pollution also contributes to this irreversible damage. In the long term, there is a significant environmental disruption compared to the short-term benefits. To sum up, even though there is a threat to the natural ecosystem, natural resources have to be discovered by exploring remote areas because gases and oil have become part of life globally. The government and policymakers should encourage sustainable practices without disturbing the natural ecosystem.