In many countries, people are moving from rural areas and towards urban areas. Why do you think that is? What problems can this cause?

There is a growing number of people moving from rural areas to urban areas. I believe that this happens because of the need to find a better job to live. However, a high number of urbanization will eventually trigger an increase of cost of living as well as high pollution around the city which will affect people ’s quality of life. Many opt to mobilize from rural areas to urban areas mostly in order to search for better jobs. In the cities, there are a lot of job vacancies available, particularly for various academic backgrounds compared to those provided in the village. For example, an IT expert usually will look for a job in a big tech-company where the main office resided in the city. Likewise, a unicorn startup in Indonesia, namely Gojek, has their headquarters in Jakarta which is the capital, means that the opportunities lie everywhere, mostly in town. Meanwhile, opportunities in urban cities are most likely limited and tend to circulate only in agriculture and forestry, which are not related to most vacancies searched by the graduates. A high and regular number of citizens moving to the cities will eventually cause some issues. First, urbanization consequently grows a high demand for property because each individual needs a place to live. As a result, the price to rent or even buy a house would become higher and thus make a noticeable raise in the cost of living in that particular city. This will make people cannot afford a better life in the city even when they already got a better job rather than in the smaller town. Moreover, dense population also leads to the possibility of highly polluted air. This pollution may appear due to the significant use of transportation. In Jakarta, the number of private transportation used by the people is very high where one person has one motorcycle as well as one family has one car, which they use regularly to go to the office. This makes Jakarta become one of the cities in the world with very poor air condition, furthermore decreasing the quality of life there. In conclusion, although many people have the right to search for a better living by finding a new job, a very significant number of people moving to the city would create some major drawbacks, such as high cost of living and pollution to the city. Hence, the government should also consider the best way to overcome the problems given that people are hoping for a better life.