These days people are living into their 90’s and beyond. As a result, there is increasing concern about care for the elderly. Do you think it is the responsibility of the family to care for their elderly members or should the government be held responsible?

In today’s world, people have an increased life expectancy,which is a result of a healthy lifestyle and awareness. This has sparked a growing concern regarding old-age care. In my opinion, older people should be cared for at home by family members, instead of government-provided care at hospitals and medical facilities. An important factor that should be accounted for is the personal attention that aged people need in their final stages of life. Individual patient attention at hospitals is probably not possible to facilitate, as most medical care facilities are already swamped with patients having more serious cases. Providing care on a personal basis seems impractical in the long run because hospitals have limited resources. For example, older people suffering from chronic conditions such as dementia will be better off taken care of at home in a more familiar environment. Therefore, admitting the elderly for longer periods of time at hospitals would be considered as negligent behaviour, and family members therefore owe their elder the care and attention needed. Another reason why families should take care of their elders in their old age is because of the moral responsibility that they are obliged to fulfil. We are all raised by our parents, who had not abandoned their responsibilities and provided us with whatever care and standard of living that was possible. Similarly, people today are to be held accountable for the care of their parents and grandparents. A society where people abandon their familial duties, will shape for the worse in the future, and it's the current generation's task to not let it happen. Moreover, the government should not be held accountable for the care of the elderly as they are supposed to be fair toward other groups of people such as the disabled and specially abled. Attending to the elderly would seem like a political gimmick rather than a social initiative. To conclude, old age care at home is far better than public hospitals, as it is beneficial for them as well as society. This will most likely result in functioning families that are much happier, and a sense of purpose among family members.