Some argue that social networking sites bring people closer together, while others believe they contribute to loneliness. Discuss both these sides and provide your own view.

Although it is considered that social media platforms encourage people to come together, others argue that they contribute to making them lonelier. In my opinion, I think that people benefit in numerous ways by using these platforms. On the one hand, some believe that people often foster better relationships through the use of online social networking. I agree. In other words, most people today have an online social presence where they are able to connect with one another and share their experiences, ideas and stories, leading to new friendships and connections. For instance, many people bond over mutual interests such as food and sports, and form lasting relationships virtually. Furthermore, people maintain vital connections with peers, relatives and old friends via social networking. On the other hand, it is thought that people tend to become lonelier by using social media. As people gradually develop the habit of browsing their online feed, they come across more and more updates about the lives of others and what they have achieved. By using these sites more, many people may gradually disconnect from the real world after a certain period and tend to spend more time online, being addicted to it. Consequently, these people who wanted to make connections but were not able to do so became lonelier than before. To conclude, while people have varying opinions, I think that social networking improves interpersonal relationships and offers people a convenient way to interact with others. However, failure to do so could make one feel more lonely and dejected.