Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Some people have argued that authorities ought to invest in railways instead of building new roads. I strongly agree with this proposal, since it offers a combination of unique features, contributing to people in various aspects, like transport and a clean environment. In today's world, modern trains can enhance the quality of individuals' lives by providing convenient transport, allowing them to implement their daily routines more comfortably. Moreover, they encourage people to use public transport instead of their vehicles, reducing the amount of traffic in towns. As an example, the metro in Tehran, the capital of Iran, not only has contributed people to carrying out their work but also has meaningfully reduced congestion in the city. Hence, spending money on these services plays a crucial role in city management, which guarantees a more enjoyable life for citizens in the society. In addition, currently, modern locomotives utilise electricity as fuel instead of fossil fuels, which is an invaluable point. This feature assists in enhancing the quality of air and decreasing the costs of side effects of pollution, including lung diseases, drought, and global warming, all of which have increased incredibly in these days. For instance, the old trains, due to using coal, produced more CO2, leading to polluted air and raising the costs of a country. Thus, the more modern the systems are, the less contamination they produce. To sum up, I believe that capitalising on railways helps people in diverse aspects of their lives and presents remarkable features, affecting the quality of life and environment.