A city should try to preserve its old, historic buildings rather than replacing them with modern buildings. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Municipal councils play an important role in preserving traditional scenery in each city. Some people argue that a city should maintain traditional buildings rather than constructing modern new ones. I agree to a certain extent with this view. While there may be some convincing reasons why the local government should update historic buildings into modern ones, the reasons why historic buildings should be kept are more significant. On the one hand, when a city builds a modern style of buildings, there are some benefits. First, an up-to-date style of properties generally attracts visitors or users of properties since those properties are usually equipped with the latest functions and features, such as facilities of brightness, spacious layout, and security functions, which makes the users feel comfortable. For instance, properties of ‘Toranomon-hills’ in Tokyo which include both attractive shopping and office areas, are always packed with a large number of visitors and office workers. Second, building owners also financially benefit from new facilities due to the fact that modern facilities attract people and increase the number of visitors and tenants, which in general results in earning more profits for building owners. On the other hand, when traditional buildings are preserved, we can see more benefits. One of the reasons is that municipal councils can keep traditional scenery by maintaining an old style of properties so that their cities can become famous tourist destinations which appeal to travellers from other areas. For example, Kiyomizu-temple in Kyoto is one of the major tourist sites in the world for its magnificent landscapes. As a result, there will be a rise in the number of consumers in the local area, which can expedite local economic development. Another reason is that maintaining historic properties leads to passing traditional local culture on to the next generation. The youngers can find and learn about the historic culture and their ancestors’ lifestyle in their areas from old properties, which leads to the respect of ancestors and the preservation of local customs. In conclusion, I believe that the local government should have historic buildings remaining because although the benefits from constructing new buildings are limited to users or owners of buildings, the preservation of traditional buildings will bring about more benefits to a wider range of people.