Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is an inevitable fact that the public, especially the youth, spend more and more time on their smartphone. While it is a widely-held belief that this development has positive impacts, I think there should be a balance, and without one, the cons will outweigh the pros. On the one hand, smartphones are extremely user-friendly, and with the advances of technology, every day a new gadget and feature are added to them, which make them remarkably convenient to use. That is why the new generation does almost all of their tasks and activities, such as attending a lecture, shopping, interacting with their friends, on their phones. While it is a hard time of adaptation for the previous generation, it is like breathing air to the former. For example, when it comes to composing an email, a millennial would usually use a laptop, while a young person would easily type an email via their smartphone. Furthermore, with easy access to the Internet, the young generation is more informed and knowledgeable. On the other hand, using smartphones could be significantly addictive. While there are a lot of applications, say, LinkedIn and YouTube, that are great for education or pursuing careers and learning skills, most young people spend time on applications like Instagram or TikTok, without any purpose and for entertainment. It has negative effects, like a lack of communication skills in real life or resulting in new employees without adequate knowledge and skills. Moreover, constantly checking news or updates on social media on the phones could lead to mental health problems, like FOMO and anxiety. In conclusion, when it comes to children spending more time on their phones than average, there are negative impacts, such as addiction and mental health issues, and positive effects like access to more information and daily activities. However, I think there should be a balance to make sure that the negative impacts, which need more attention from the adults, will not outweigh the positive ones.