It is better for people to have a fixed work schedule than to have a flexible one. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It has been observed that recently more and more people are adopting a flexible work schedule. While some people think it is better to work with one's pace and at one's own choice of working place, others think it is better to follow a fixed work schedule, as it ensures a more reliable output. Some workers may become more productive if they could have a more flexible work plan as some individuals like to work at night instead of working in the morning, as normal working hours require. In the meantime, some people have other duties like sending kids to school or preparing meals for the family, which causes them not be able to follow the usual timetable that most companies adopt. As a result, this group of people may prefer to follow their own timetable as they can better arrange the tasks they have and finish the assigned work in their own pace. On the other hand, some people are more suitable to follow a fixed timetable for work. As human beings, it is normal to get distracted by different things and if there is not a fixed time slot set for work, it is quite unlikely for employees to finish the task on time. Moreover, a clear work schedule can also help workers to keep up with development of the tasks, especially for a project that requires collaboration between colleagues. A fixed work schedule ensures team members to contribute evenly to the project. In a nutshell, some people may appreciate the freedom a flexible work schedule brings, others are better to follow a fixed schedule as it helps workers to finish the task on time and it is also good for team collaboration.