Some people argue that parents of children who break the law should be punished in some way, because they are responsible for their children’s actions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no denying the fact that recent years have witnessed more lawbreakers, including kids, causing concerns among the public. While there is a commonly held belief that children's parents who break the law should be punished, there is an argument against it. This essay will discuss this topic from both points of view and express my opinion. On one hand, there is no doubt that the children imitate their parents ' actions and sayings. It is also possible to say that the parents serve as role models for their kids. Therefore, whether a child has a good personality and proper attitude mostly depends on the parents ' background. For example, a statistical study from the American National Crime Prevention revealed that individuals from families with a lack of order and discipline were 2 times more at risk of engaging in a crime than those from a structured household. On the other hand, I do believe that lowbreakers themselves, not their parents, should be punished to ensure justice. Firstly, it is not fair for the community if offenders can escape from justice and continue their normal lives despite harming society. In fact, punishment is to let them understand the price of their actions and prevent potential crime in the future. Furthermore, if parents take all responsibility for their kid's actions, this could have a misleading impact on children. In conclusion, despite people having different views, I tend to believe that parents may take a part in their children's wrongdoing, but they should not take major responsibility for this. So, I firmly believe that all lawbreakers, regardless of how old they are, should be punished to ensure fairness.