Some people think that countries should limit the amount of food that they import and mainly eat products from their own country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the imported food should be limited by governments, and they should primarily consume local products. This essay strongly agrees with this statement because this will improve the local companies and the country's economy, and it will reduce the costs of the expenses on the country. Limiting imported food will contribute to developing the regional businesses. If the state decided to reduce the amount of food which is being bought from abroad, it would benefit domestic companies because citizens would start to buy from them. Moreover, it will even lead the economy of the government itself to thrive, so this is a win for everyone. For example, in 2018, Saudi Arabia decided to decrease the imported provisions by 50%; after only 3 years, the provincial firms had made exceptional profits, and the local economy had increased by 24% since then. Another reason why nations should consider diminishing imported goods is the reducing of the financial costs borne by the state. If you think that purchasing overseas products does not cost that much, I'm afraid to tell you that is a huge lie. There are a lot of things that the state should pay for so the products could be delivered, such as international customs duties, freight charges, and many more. For instance, the Kuwaiti Ministry of Finance has recently reported that 15% of the annual payments that the state affords are for globally sourced food, and this is not a small percentage, by the way. In conclusion, importing food or goods places a significant financial burden on the state. By reducing imports to a certain extent and increasing reliance on locally produced products, the country can strengthen its economy while simultaneously supporting local businesses.