We cannot help everyone who needs help in the world, so we should only be concerned with our own communities and countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that we should not help people in countries as long as there are problems in our own society. I disagree with this view because I believe that we should try to help as many people as possible. I accept that it is to help our neighbours and fellow citizens. In most communities, there are people who are impoverished or disadvantaged in some way. It is possible to find homeless people, for example, in even the wealthiest cities, and for those who are concerned about this problem, there are usually opportunities to volunteer time or donate money to support these people. In the UK, people can help in a variety of ways, from offering clothing to serve free food in a soup kitchen. As the problems are on our doorstep, and there are obvious ways to help, I can understand why some people feel that we should prioritise local charity. In the meantime, I would argue that we also have an obligation to help those who live beyond our national borders. In some countries, the problems that people face are much more serious than those in our own communities, and it is often even easier to help. For example, when children are dying from curable diseases in African countries, governments and individuals in richer countries can save lives simply by paying for vaccines that already exist. A small donation to an international charity might have a much greater impact than helping in our local area. In summary, it is true that we cannot help everyone, but in my opinion, national boundaries should not stop us from helping those who are in need.