Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for the governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

The issue of environmental development has gained significant attention in recent years. Some argue that the government should tackle the recycling problems by raising environmental awareness in society through legal requirements. It is believed that legal requirements are more effective solutions for many people. Firstly, making recycling a legal requirement is increasing the compliance of citizens. Legal rules make society aware of using the essentials and are able to recycle more diligently and be constantly behaving. For example, Germany has implemented recycling rules for their citizens, and as a result, their country received the highest number of recycling in the world. It showed that legal laws can drive public to use recycling which can decrease the number of waste in the world when these requirements are implemented in all countries. Therefore, legal legislation alone can not implemented without environmental knowledge. To make sure the rules are implemented effectively, the governments can make education programs. Many people lack environmental knowledge such as the impact of recycling or what benefits they receive. So, the governments increased the knowledge with campaigns, posters, pamphlets, and other resources in school or community programs. In addition, giving rewards or subsidies decreases waste in households. The governments can give incentives to people with the highest recycling essentials. These compliments make people participate actively. As a result, this can support environmental awareness in society. In conclusion, laws mandating can significantly increase the proportion of awareness. Whereas, the mandate can not be implemented alone. Another strategy that can be integrated is education programs and incentives for citizens. As a result, the number of waste in the world can decrease.