The rise of convenience food has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern life style. What are the advantages of this trend? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often argued that modern food is designed to fit into today’s fast-paced lifestyle. While some individuals claim that fast food is the natural evolution of nutrition, others insist that health consequences could overtake us in the near future. In my view, although both perspectives have merit, I strongly believe that takeout food has its own niche and right to exist. On the other hand, take-and-go services are very useful for people with limited time, such as businessmen or students, due to their accessibility and quick preparation. While traditional restaurants start cooking only after the order is placed, fast- food chains usually have meals prepared in advance. Furthermore, snacks are cheap and affordable for students who do not work or receive only a small scholarship. In fact, fast food has become an ideal solution for communities with little money or time. On the one hand, junk food has a number of disadvantages for the general consumer: excess calories, unhealthy fats, and even addiction. According to recent research, regular fast- food consumers face 50% more heart problems, and 70% of them suffer from obesity. Moreover, contemporary chain restaurants often fail to maintain cleanliness in the kitchen, which may lead to poisoning or E. coli infections. Therefore, eating this type of cuisine can be very dangerous to one’s health. To consider all of the above, although opposing opinions still persist, I am convinced that fast food, despite its unhealthy influence, can be a convenient alternative for certain groups of society in today’s fast-developing world, as long as it is not consumed excessively.