Today, many people do not know their neighbors. Why is this? What can be done about this?

Nowadays, many people are not familiar with their neighbours. The main reason behind this trend is the fast-paced lifestyle that limits social interaction, and the most effective solution is to raise awareness through community programmes and education about the importance of neighbourly relationships. People nowadays have a lot to do in their daily lives, and most of them remain busy throughout the day. In other words, individuals often spend almost all their time working because of the long working hours they must complete, which can extend up to 10 hours a day. For example, in Japan, many people complain about not even knowing their neighbours ’ names due to their extremely demanding work schedules. This results in a phenomenon called 'death alone', which is dying alone in your accommodation without anyone paying attention to you for a couple of days because of your poor relationship with your neighbours. A long-term measure to address this challenge is to implement educational campaigns highlighting the social drawbacks of being unfamiliar with one’s neighbours. Children in schools could be taught how to improve their relationship with the residents next door. They are also likely to teach their parents about the things they learnt at school, and adults will also be influenced by this initiative. For example, school children in KSA were taught about the consequences of weak relationships with the people living nearby, and now kindness to one's neighbour and strengthening one's relationship with them have become part of the country's culture. In conclusion, the weak relationship between neighbours stems from the fast-paced lifestyle that has reduced people ’s free time. The most effective solution is to educate citizens about the importance of dedicating time to their neighbours.