Some people think lawbreakers should be sent to prisons while others claim they should be made to work in communities. Discuss both and give your opinion.

It is debated whether people who break the law should go to prison or should be forced to work in communities. However, I am of the opinion that some criminals deserve to work in communities, but high-level criminals do not deserve this chance. On one hand, some people think putting away lawbreakers in prison is a better method because they think that all felons need to face severe punishment for their wrongdoings. For example, someone that is accused of sexual assault shouldn't have the chance to go free and be given a second chance at enjoying life. Furthermore, some people reached this conclusion since they caused trauma to the victims they hurt while they were doing the crime. A prime example would be someone that is charged with sexual assault because he/she deeply scarred the victim for life and might go on to develop mental disorders such as PTSD. On the other hand, most people see sending lawbreakers to prison as a pointless and an ineffective move due to the fact that it costs a huge amount of money. Reports have shown that half of most of every country's debt is from prisons. Moreover, people think that there is a huge possibility that criminals who were sent to prison and then go out go on to do another crime that will send them back to prison. The New York Times reported that 62% of felons who get out of prison go on to repeat the crime again. Another statistic based in the Netherlands shows that the crime rate was reduced by 20% after they demolished several prisons. This shows that sending people to prison is a waste of resources. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that low- and mid-level felons should have the chance to work in communities. However, high-level felons deserve to receive severe punishment, such as going to prison or receiving the death penalty.