In many countries, pets are treated as family members and people spend a lot of money on them. What are the advantages (pros, benefits, positive aspects) and disadvantages (cons, negative aspects, drawbacks) of having a pet?

In the prevailing era, the majority of people like the company of pets. They treat them as family members. This essay will not only discuss the pros but also offer insight into the cons. Commencing with the most salient benefit of having pets in a home is that children, especially in western countries, live separate from their parents. That time, pets help them to tackle the problem of loneliness. For example, in Canada, people generally prefer cats and dogs at their home. They cannot only talk to them but also share their emotions with them when another loved one is not with them. Eventually, they bacame their family. Despite its given advantages, one of the prominent drawbacks is that it is expensive to have pets at home. They normally need extra care, food, and especially a cage that can create financial burden on their owners. To illustrate, the cost of purchasing a bed ranges from $700-$5000, and expense on other essential things around $500-$1000 monthly. A person may not afford all of these things without a job. To conclude, pets easily become close friends in order to remove people's isolation is the main advantage of this phenomenon, but they are hard to afford because of tight budget.