As mass communication and transport continue to grow, societies are becoming more and more alike, leading to a phenomenon known as globalization. Some people fear that globalization will inevitably lead to the total loss of cultural identity. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people feel that globalisation, driven by the rapid growth of mass communication and transport, is damaging the uniqueness of cultural identity and pressing towards uniformity. In my opinion, globalisation poses a threat to cultural diversity and may lead to the loss of customary traditions. The primary reason is that globalisation promotes a standardised approach. What I mean here is that global brands, popular media and culture now transcend national boundaries. In particular, the widespread of Western lifestyle, tradition and food outlets, often overshadows local markets and customs. For example, a local vendor who has set up a stall in the nearby park sells a variety of traditional snacks and food. Last year, the introduction of Western fast food outlets in the neighbourhood attracted many people in the surrounding area, resulting in a loss to his business and the popularity of local cuisines. Hence, globalisation can have adverse effects on the local markets. An additional reason for my stance is that globalisation might have a detrimental impact on cultural practices and traditional customs. Granted, homogenisation may enhance lifestyle and workspace with advanced technologies, but it also threatens the preservation of history and traditions. Not only are distinct practices from different nations becoming dominant across the globe, but also the younger generation tends to prioritise them over their native ones. For instance, a survey conducted by a renowned textile industry demonstrates a decrease in the trend of cultural wears, as many people in India prefer to follow Western clothing rather than traditional clothing for daily activities. Accordingly, acculturation erodes the interest of people towards their national identity. In conclusion, the spread of a single global civilisation and common merchandise may eventually lead to the erosion of cultural mores and the rural economy. Therefore, it is essential to find a balance where societies can benefit from global integration while safeguarding their unique cultural identities.