Government spending on restoration of old buildings in cities should be stopped. Instead they should spend the money for housing and road development. Do you agree or disagree?

Governments of all nations spend huge amounts of money on the reconstruction and maintenance of historical buildings. Some people argue that spending that much amount should be inhibited and it should be invested in accommodation and the development of roads. Although the expansion of housing and roads is also necessary, I firmly believe that the restoration of old monuments is very vital as it will boost tourism as well as for the sake of its city residents' safety. As the age of every building passes,it becomes weak and it can undergo corrosion. If the proper maintenance is not done and at the correct time, it can lead to a risk to citizens' lives living nearby. To illustrate, near our village, there was a very famous bridge which was constructed before the Independence and it was not renovated after that. Last year in 2023, the bridge fell costing the lives of more than 70 people. So, it is mandatory to have restoration of old monuments to ensure the safety of all natives. Historical monuments also help in boosting the tourism of the city and country. Tourists visit all parts of the world not only to visit historical buildings but also to learn about the history of these. For example, India has so many old famous monuments like the Taj Mahal, and Lal Kila and people all over the world travel to India to visit these historical palaces. Therefore, these old buildings are a blessing when it comes to boosting tourism. To conclude, It is vital to spend money on improving the infrastructure of urban areas but I strongly believe that the renovation of old buildings is equally important as it attracts tourists as well to ensure the safety of residents.