In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

For a long time in many countries, students have studied for their university degree in their own countries of birth. However, recently, many students have taken the opportunity to study abroad. This option has many pros and cons. The main advantage is the ability to go abroad helps students to have more exposure to the world, different cultures and perceptions about the way of life. For example, a student from a Zambian culture would be taught to be quiet when being shouted at, even though there is an opportunity to speak up and justify their actions. With interactions with other peers, one can learn from other cultures to respond and justify the actions made. This enables one to be a well-rounded individual student, especially when managing conflicts. The well-rounded individuals become great at managing or creating organisations that transform the way businesses are run in multiple countries, not just the country of origin. One possible drawback, many undergraduates who travel to study abroad tend to experience loneliness. Most opportunities that exist require one to leave their country and not go with their family. For instance, a married man would receive an opportunity to pursue an undergrad, however, his wife and children would be left back in the country of origin. He would miss or long for the family connection. As a result, the student would not focus on the university degree they came to study which would cause them to fail. In Conclusion, the ability to study abroad is a great opportunity for many students, as many benefit not only to gain a university degree but also gain to new cultural experience. There are some disadvantages, but the benefits outweigh them.