Some people believe that teenagers should always follow the example of the older people. Others believe that teenagers should question what older people say. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some people think that adolecents should always follow the example of olders, others belive that teenagers ought to question what elderly people tell them. Both perspectives have valid points. I will discuss them before exposing my personal opinion. On the one hand, parents usually tell their children to listen to their elders, because they are wiser people, with more experience, and it also makes them more respectful. Many times, they believe that if teenagers imitate certain actions of the person, it will lead them to the same place. Although it is positive that, for example, a son imitates his father's responsibility, he cannot take the person as an example and be like him, even worse if it is by obligation. Follow the example of an older person just because they've lived longer isn't enough. There should always be room for questioning. On the other hand, It is crucial for teenagers to acquire a mindset that allows them to both, learn from their elders and question what they are told. Adolescents who follow strict and unquestionable rules, tend to adopt closed-minded behaviors that prevent them from expressing themselves and being themselves, whereas young people raised more permissively, grew up freer and more open to discussing diverse opinions in a respectful manner. I think a teenager should be able to balance both, they should be open to taking advice from an older person, as well as being able to think critically and reject discourse that doesn't align with their values. To conclude, there are redeemable points from both perspectives: on the one hand, being able to respect and take into consideration someone older than you, and on the other, having the ability to think for yourself. However, I believe that it is more important to learn to question and develop critical thinking, instead of following the example of someone older who could be wrong.