A number of tertiary courses require students to undertake a period of unpaid work at institution or organisation as part of their program. what are the advantages and disadvantages of the type of course requirement? give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge.

A lot of scholars in many undergrad programs are required to undertake a period of non-income-based work in companies affiliated with their school. The advantage of the following type of course is the ability to gain real-world experience, and the disadvantage is the financial strain faced by students. On the one hand, it is beneficial for students to gain real-world experience. This approach helps them connect their theoretical knowledge to practical knowledge found at work. For instance, student nurses who get to work in hospitals would practise how to take temperature, check BP, inject medication and change bandages of real patients. This solidifies the skills being gained in their field of work or program in which they are studying. On the other hand, it becomes a financial burden for the student to go and come back from work. Most undergraduates do not come from well-to-do families, thereby transport and food funds become a problem for them. For example, my niece studying Biomedical engineering, was required to go for internships at a hospital institution out of town. To avoid too many expenses, such as rental fees, she would board two buses every day to reach her destination. As a result, she should constantly ask for money from her family to help her pay for her transport and food. In conclusion, even though real-world experience is important, it is not easy to undertake unpaid work from organisations as it causes financial burdens on students. Organisations should consider paying a small remuneration to help in this regard and resolve the challenges students face.