Some people think that getting old is a negative thing, whereas others think it is much easier for people to live in modern society. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.(社会)

As technology develops, life expectancy has been significantly extended. Although some people harbour a belief that getting old is a negative thing, others hold the reverse viewpoint that it is much easier to live in modern society than in the past. From my perspective,I am inclined to stand with the opinion that ageing is not a positive process since it will be struggling for both society and individuals. Initially, one of the main arguments in favour of the proponents who think modern lives are easier than in the past is that people nowadays have relatively sufficient resources to maintain a healthy lifestyle. Thanks to the growth of the medical industry and technology, the senior generations are generally well looked after. Besides, it is common to see the elderly who keep high body fitness levels because of the increasing awareness of health care. Thus, technological and medical development and widespread common sense of healthy life indeed can postpone the drawbacks of getting old to a certain degree. At the other end of the spectrum, the growing numbers of the older population will give rise to a social burden and those who live without meaning may suffer from illness or isolation. For the sake of social benefits, governmental resources are deprived of other aspects when the demand for ageing nursing keeps growing. Moreover, those sick elderly who are saved by modern medical techniques may need to put up with their diseases and spend time in bed for the rest of their lives which can be a kind of torture. Therefore, the demerits of ageing cannot be denied no matter how society develops. To sum up, despite the fact that modern development has brought about an easier way to live, getting old still plays a vicious role in a lifetime. As no one can escape from the cruel circle of life, the only thing that crowds can do is seize the day and cherish the surroundings.Carpe diem!