Some people believe that housing is a basic human right for all individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people are of the opinion that having own home is a basic right for all citizens. Personally, I agree with this point of view, for two main reasons. Firstly, housing is part and parcel of a sustainable life. By providing housing to the inhabitants, who face temporary hardships on their life paths, governments can improve their living standards. The presence of a home will help them to develop other areas of their lives, such as education or work. This is because they will not have to think any more about how to save huge sums for acquiring at least small apartments, which in turn will enable them to dedicate more time and efforts to developing their career or studies. If they develop professionally and earn more money, it will pave the way for a more enjoyable and sustainable life. In addition, this approach has a positive impact on society as well. With all people having somewhere to live, countries will solve the critical issue of crime. As a result of providing housing to everyone, the number of homeless people will fall, resulting in a decrease in the number of offences committed by them. For example, in a few European countries where people have the right to receive social housing, the proportions of assaults, murders, and other crimes are significantly lower than in the nations where such governmental policies are not implemented. Therefore, citizens feel safer under such circumstances. In conclusion, I take the view that housing is the critical right for all individuals as it is an integral part of people's sustainability and has a positive impact on the whole society.