Some people think that shops should not be allowed to sell any food or drink that has scientifically been proved to have bad effects on people's health. To what extent do you agree or disagree

In many countries, policymakers are debating the effectiveness of outright bans on unhealthy food and drinks to improve public health. While some argue that such a measure is considered an infringement on personal freedom, I believe it is necessary to improve public health and promote economic growth. To begin with, the sale of foods and drinks that harm physical and mental health should be banned. Products sold in shops are often high in harmful substances, such as salt, sugar, and trans fats, which, when consumed regularly, can eventually lead to chronic diseases, including diabetes, hypertension, and cardiovascular disease. Therefore, health -related problems increase the burden on healthcare services, producing not only an unhealthy population but also a struggling economy. For example, a 2023 study in Singapore showed a significant decline in health issues after the government forbade shops from selling processed food. Furthermore, the government should enact a ban on harmful foods and drinks to maintain public order and productivity. To illustrate this, fast food and unhealthy beverages often undermine mental and physical abilities, which negatively influence residents' productivity, leading to economic stagnation. For instance, Saudi Arabia's strict prohibition on alcohol is often cited as a factor in its thriving economy and healthy population. Consequently, if authorities enacted a law that forbade a wide variety of unhealthy items, such a measure would probably reduce numerous health -related issues. To conclude, although some may argue that consumption should be a matter of personal choice, I am convinced that targeted bans on harmful products are justified. Poor public health places a strain on healthcare systems and reduces citizens' productivity.