Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; others believe only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

It is commonly argued that governments and global companies are responsible for environmental improvement, while other people have nothing to do with it. Personally, I completely disagree with this view for a variety of reasons. Firstly, a small community cannot make a huge difference in preserving the living environment. Therefore, we need individual to understand the importance of this issue and protect their own areas to make it better. In fact, sustainability is one of the serious issues that we should add to the school’s curriculum. For example, my son, who is in kindergarten, has an opportunity to learn how to separate rubbish and recycle plastic materials. Secondly, governments and other communities can announce laws and regulations in terms of conservation, but we need every person to follow and make it matter. This means that people will get fined or arrested if they do not obey the rules. For instance, Mr John, who was my neighbour, got punished AU$250 because he left trash on the road instead of in the general bin. Moreover, universal corporations can also make a paramount effort in this situation by encouraging their employees to attend the environmental projects. For example, my company allows us 8 hours paid per year for participating in preservation activities which are held by our head offices or governments. In conclusion, it is widely thought that environmental problems are what governments, and other businesses must care about. In my opinion, individuals around the world must go hand in hand to effectively improve the environment.