Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s society, a large proportion of waste from households is not recycled. Some people consider that the government should enforce laws to deal with this sort of problem. This may truly be a viable solution, but I do not agree that it is the only option. If recycling waste is legally required, people will possibly do it; otherwise, they can be punished. Regulatory requirements serve as a deterrent, as any punishment, either a fine or a community order, can impact one’s life. If they pay a fine for failing to sort rubbish, for example, they may have less money for covering living expenses. In cases where tyheu reofeend, they may even be required to clean streets or pick up litter in public. To avoid these consequences, they will choose to dispose of rubbish in the same ways as instructed by the government. Despite the potential outcome of the legal approach, it may not be necessary when the government has successfully educated the public to recycle as much waste as possible. People dump waste recklessly because they do not realise the environmental benefits of recycling and the appropriate ways to do it. If schools and communities disseminate knowledge about cycling, all citizens can form habits of resuing waste whenever possible from a young age. Some publicity campaigns, for instance, provide information about what items can be recycled and what facilities collect these items. If people take recycling as a normal part of their lives, they would engage in this activity voluntarily in the absence of tough laws. In conclusion, legal change may be required in some communities or countries where people do not feel the need to recycle, but it is unnecessary if people have been taught to develop this habit since childhood.