Some people feel that the responsibility for providing education should be borne only by the government and that private education should be banned. What are the main advantages of banning private education? Are there any circumstances ehre private education should be allowed? What is your own opinion on the matter?

In recent years, the question of whether educational institutions should be run solely by the government has been widely debated. While there are certain circumstances that may justify private schools, I believe that it is better to provide only public education for all students without discrimination. On the one hand, I agree with those who advocate banning private schools because this would bring several advantages. Fairness and equality for students can be achieved through standardised and government-run education, where all students receive the same quality of teaching and access to facilities, preventing wealthier families from gaining an unfair advantage over the disadvantaged groups. For example, a 2023 study in the United States showed that 81% of graduates from elite private schools obtained high-paying jobs, compared with only 19% of graduates from public schools; the study attributed this difference largely to the prestige of the private institutions. Moreover, social integration among individuals from different backgrounds can occur when everyone receives the same standard of education. On the other hand, there are certain contexts in which private education may be justified. Some parents require specialised instruction, including religious education, bilingual schooling, and programmes tailored for gifted groups, which state-funded schools cannot offer. For instance, many religious women in France cannot attend publicly funded schools because such schools prohibit girls not only from wearing their veil but also from practising their religion, which has led to a demand for private schools. Furthermore, if public schools are poorly managed and produce only narrow-minded people, families will seek private education that can offer rigorous academics. To conclude, although there are special circumstances that necessitate private education, I am convinced that a system of publicly funded schools would be far more effective in ensuring both equality and social cohesion.