Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, more and more children spend their day on their tablets. This is due to the development in technology. I firmly believe that this trend has many negative effects on children's lives, and in this essay, I will explain why. To begin with, the use of smartphones grew over the past decade, especially among children. This is because they are easy to use and entertain children with the apps inside. For example, when they are bored, they just sit on the tablet and enjoy their time, while time passes by playing games. As a result, the happiness hormone is released and becomes a habit that they will like. On the other hand, there are many consequences for this trend. Overusing smartphones is not the most effective thing for a child to do, due to the fact that they are in a crucial period of growth, when they need to focus more on their studies instead of wasting their time on useless things. In addition, when using a tablet for a long period of time during the day, it becomes a habit by releasing the happiness hormone. Therefore, when the device is used again, it is released again, resulting in habituation, which is not beneficial for a child to get dragged into at that early age. In conclusion, the development of technology created a device, which became a crucial thing in a child's life, by keeping them entertained during the day. Although I believe the effects it came with are more important to consider, it takes their time for no good, leading them to fail in more crucial life matters.