Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some argue that in order to prevent the formation of a self-centered culture everyday matters should be dictated to children, while others contend that these choices should be made by children themselves. Although I acknowledge the concerns of the former group, I am of the opinion that the latter approach is more beneficial. Children's unsupervised decisions not only affect themselves but also put future society in danger. Parents are believed to be responsible for teaching essential life skills, such as discipline and obedience, to their children. This approach can be reached by dictating a lifestyle. For instance, obligating young children to eat meals based on a planned schedule, regardless of their own will, can teach them that the world will not always bend to their will. This mentality can benefit them later in life as they learn not to have high expectations from other people and obey the rules within professional settings. Moreover, parents and teachers usually have a broader perspective on life and are familiar with the long-term benefits and repercussions of decisions, whereas children whose decisions are impulsive and based on short-term gratification can not take long-term effects into their calculations. Therefore, children's supervisors are more eligible to choose a life path that would benefit both children and society at large. However, allowing children to decide for themselves can teach them invaluable skills and bring about happiness. Although learning does not happen at a certain age, the thoughts and mentalities that have been conferred on an individual at a young age usually dominate the latter-learned lessons. Therefore, it is crucial to teach children essential skills, such as independence and decision-making, and the best way to acquire these abilities would be by deciding on one's clothes and food. These decisions not only foster a sense of independence but also do not bring serious negative consequences. Additionally, as children choose their own way of entertaining, they are more likely to enjoy the whole process and engage in the activity. This can ultimately guarantee mental and physical well-being. For example, children who have chosen volleyball themselves are more likely to enjoy the whole play rather than those who were forced to take up the sport. This happiness encourages the former group to regularly show up at training sessions, and build stamina, as well as fuel their energy sources. In conclusion, there is controversy surrounding the freedom of children in terms of deciding on one's clothes, food, and entertainment routine. I personally reckon that these decisions are advantageous for young souls.