Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In this modern era, a number of school children spend numerous hours on technological devices such as smartphones. This phenomenon stems from technological development and social media addiction. Even though this situation seems beneficial for their well-being, I believe that this trend is rather negative because of health risks and loss of precious time to study. To begin with, there are several reasons why they spend a lot of time on their phones. Firstly, using phones is inextricably linked with their lives, including in private lives and even in school. These youngsters need to possess the devices so that they can communicate with their friends and parents, as well as occasionally search for things mentioned in classes when their teachers allow them to look them up. Secondly, social media is also a huge contributor to the use of the Internet. Owing to the proliferation and the algorithm of social media, it became a place where they can not only express themselves, but also seek their interests and stimulation, which are less available in their daily lives, such as taking a look at their favourite idols and sharing their interests with their friends. Turning to the disadvantages of this development, one of them is health issues. Excessive exposure to the Internet can negatively affect their physical and mental problems, such as obesity and anxiety. This is because it can prevent them from playing outside and contacting other people in the real world. Another is that being on a phone every day might discourage them from studying, because it is such an addiction that it is difficult for them to decide when to quit and start studying. To illustrate this, according to a recent study, the average score for the entrance exam of Osaka University in 2020 was lower than that of 2010, with a 15% gap. In conclusion, the usage of smartphones is pivotal for young generations, and it is inevitable for them to use the gadgets as a measure for communication and for leisure time. I think that this is a negative development since it may harm their bodies and can hinder their academic success.