Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Some kids spend hours looking at their smartphones on a daily basis. The cause of this development can be traced back to how the creators of these devices engineer them to be more intriguing so that they may sell more. In my opinion, this is a negative phenomenon that keeps children from outdoor activities. In our modern era, countless companies, such as smartphone companies, look to increase their sales and make a profit. As a result, they work towards designing new entertaining features and absorbing applications. Let’s keep in mind that children are most susceptible to these tactics. And since most companies are competitive, the advancement of said features is faster than what a normal person can keep up with. Consequently, people, especially children, will spend more time on their phones just to keep themselves up to date. For example, at family gatherings, kids prefer spending time on their handy pocket-sized gadgets to talking to each other. These developments are definitely obstructive, because they get in the way of children who need to go outside and explore the world around them. The harm these gadgets bring to kids isn’t instantaneous, so the need to take action regarding this problem is often dismissed. But as time passes, we see that kids who spend a lot of time indoors and on their phones become gloomy, are easily provoked, and even start having health-related issues such as degrading eyesight or a lack of vitamins. All in all, the appeal and time consumption of mobile phones is intended by the factories that make them, and our children are vulnerable to this. We need to encourage them to put down their mobiles and take part in other activities as well.